Many young people are leaving their homes in rural areas to study or work in cities. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

As more and more organizations and institutes establish themselves in cities, talent from rural areas is drawn towards it. While this 'Brain Drain' does negatively impact the development of non-metropolitan regions, it's advantages towards the economy of a nation are far more pronounced. Although there are several reasons for the migration of the young population in cities, the most evident one is better career prospects. Multinational companies prefer to set up offices in cities rather than villages, therefore, skilled workers can build successful careers there. Whereas in rural areas, such opportunities are rather limited. Similarly, most of the prestigious universities and colleges are based out of towns and cities. The closer they are from MNCs, the easier it becomes for students to land a job. Apart from better professional opportunities, a city lifestyle is often sought after by the younger generation. While it may seem that rural regions are merely the breeding ground for raw talent, there is definitely more to it than what meets the eye. As the youth move out of their homes in search of education and job prospects, a significant part of this group eventually works in government offices. These government officials, then, promote growth and development of regions that have been ignored in the past. Moreover, the boost in the economy due to this talent influx encourages organizations and educational institutes to build branches in the outskirts as well. Therefore, 'Brain Drain' is not only inevitable but also beneficial. To conclude, the youth will continue to be drawn towards more developed areas in search of better education, jobs and lifestyle. However, this phenomenon will, eventually, bring prosperity to all.