Nowadays international tourism is the biggest industry worldwide. Unfortunately, sometimes it creates tension between people from different cultures, instead of better understanding. Why do you think it is happening and how can it be improved?

Tourism indeed has emerged as the biggest employer across the world and has catered to the robust economic growth of the nations. However, it has its share of problems where clashes have been observed between individuals of different countries. The most common rationales observed are the lack of compliances of visiting nations by the tourists and the unwelcoming attitude of local people of some communities in the host nation. These stalemates could be rectified if tourists are given sessions on laws and regulations of the visiting land as well as educating the local communities about the contribution of tourism in the development of their area. To begin with, these days buying tickets to travel to a foreign land has become easy and visa processes have become simpler but paradoxically the laws related to travellers have become complex. Tourists in excitement forget to read about the rules and regulations of the touring nation and commit some negligence to repent later. For example, recently a traveller was thrown out of a famous temple in India due to negligence on his part to follow the written down rules of the sacred place. Eventually, government authorities had to intervene and resolve the matter amicably. This problem could be overcome if tourists are made aware of the principles of foreign nations. A handbook of essential guidelines can be disseminated along with the boarding passes while departing from their homeland. This will ensure that people will adhere to the statutes of another territory and minimize the unintentional lawbreaking events and rather act as a catalyst in maintaining the amicable relationship between the nations. In addition to the above, it has been discovered that communities of host nations do not like to welcome individuals of different cultures into their own. They look down on tourists as invaders and intruders who have come to disturb their cultural harmony. This menace can be improved if local authorities educate people about the benefits which tourists can bring to their area. For instance, villagers in and around famous historical forts in Rajasthan were educated about the rich dividends they can reap by becoming more open to travellers from other regions. Eventually, with time the footfall increased and Rajasthan has become the numero uno spot for tourists visiting India. Thus, by making masses aware of the humongous tangible and intangible benefits of the tourism industry, the problem of increasing tensions between people could be curbed. In conclusion, with heightening tensions between travellers and local people due to lack of proper guidance given to the visitors as well as latter feeling hesitant to welcome the former, it becomes imperative to share the restrictions with the sightseer and societies of host nation are enlightened about the requirement of tourism for development so that the largest industry could flourish amid the soaring friendly relations between the nations.