Nowadays many countries have very cosmopolitan cities with newcomers from all over the world. How can the government ensure that locals and newcomers live together harmoniously?

In the modern era of transparent boundaries between countries a new phenomenon has emerged: multicultural megalopolices hosting people from all over the world. This is apparent that migrants often face certain problems once they have arrived at the new country, and it is the responsibility of the government to prevent any trouble that might affect both locals and newcomers. This essay will analyse two possible solutions: provision of basic information and support from local communities. Firstly, the authorities should provide migrants with as much information as possible to assure their flawless integration into the society. The exact types of content may vary ranging from printed brochures to complex online platforms, but it has to be well-developed and apprehensible. For instance, the World Bank has a large-scale project for labour migrants who not only receive financial help from the institution, but also get advice on customs and traditions of the country they move to. Thereafter, once migrants get acquainted with local culture, they have little trouble with further communication. Secondly, the government should encourage local communities to help those coming from other cultures to assimilate. Obviously, it is a mutual interest of locals and migrants to build peaceful relationships, and any help from citizens will add value to this process. For example, local communities in Germany organize special events for the neighbours so people could meet and know each other better. As a result, newcomers become a part of the community and feel like home. To summarize, it is important that migrants get support from both the state and locals. This will ensure that their assimilation into the society goes without any unpredicted problems. Fortunately, there are numerous initiatives that address these issues; they have already proven successful in many cases.