Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

It has been observed that the youth take a gap from the study after completion of their schooling instead of getting admission at the University. There are several betterments and detriments for such a situation, both aspects are discussed further. Discussing the benefits of the mentioned situation, the prime reward is that the young guns can learn about the culture. By this I mean that, as students roam around the world during their break, they will learn about different traditions, languages and social skills. Therefore, their approach changes towards their life as well as become a multilingual person. Moreover, students get a practical experience while doing a part-time job. In other words, pupils learn about maintaining financial condition, enhance their knowledge about businesses as well as find their choice for further studies. For example, the admission department from the University of Pennsylvania conducted a survey and stated that by having all the above-mentioned abilities, it helps students to have an exceptional result in their studies compared to the other scholar. Despite the benefits, there are a few repercussions for such scenario. The foremost reason is that students lose momentum. To explain this, the information in their head will fade away after taking a year gap from high school. As a result, a learner would suffer from getting knowledge from new curriculum while pursuing their degree education. Furthermore, gap requires precise planning. To elaborate, during this time if they can not find program and job, he/she might be going through serious issues such as anxiety, which might lead them to illegal activities: theft, consumption of drugs and many more. To sum up, it can be stated that each side the situation has its advantages and disadvantages. It is a fair idea to take a break to find own speciality before choosing a course at the university; however, without executing perfect plan, learners loose focus from their study as well as job.