Some people today believe that the world’s increase in population is unsustainable and will eventually lead to a global crisis. Other people believe that world population increase is necessary and beneficial as it creates the growth of the world’s economy and society. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

For the last decades, the world’s population has increased rapidly to the point some studies dictate this growth could become unsustainable, leading to a worldwide crisis. An opinion which, certainly, has its merits, since natural resources are not infinite. However, some people also claim the birth boost could be benefic to economy and society. In terms of demerits, there is a lot to consider, such as the limitations of natural resources, for example. The water shortage is causing droughts and fires all around the world. The faster population grows, the largest extent of natural resources will be consumed in a considerably short period of time, not giving enough conditions to the planet to regenerate. In addition to this matter, air, traffic and noise pollution have expanded and taken place across every country, leading to a variety of respiratory and pulmonary diseases. Not to mention other overpopulation related problems like famine and lack of job opportunities., which can already be found in countries as Africa. On the other hand, some positive considerations can be made about the merits of it. The economic progress is directly linked to the quantity of global consuming, meaning with a larger concentration of trades among people, the capital should enhance its value altogether, creating, in theory, more job opportunities. Another reflection to be made is, as new births happen, the concentration of younger adults have also improved, bringing new and innovative ideas concerning entrepreneurship and environment, so as changes to traditional capitalist lifestyle in detriment of nature. In conclusion, with more habitats, a greater load of assets will be consumed. Even though new minds may carry groundbreaking projects to allow this growth to be sustainable, it is not happening fast enough and we will eventually run out of the water, oil, coal and other natural means primordial to our own existence on this planet. That said, Earth is not only ours to take over the native reserves unconsciously as we grow indeterminately.