Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that investing in the construction of railways should be prioritized by the government over roads. This essay agrees with the statement because railways are more efficient in several ways and that roads have a higher risk for accidents. Railroads have many efficient benefits. First, traffic and road congestion is eliminated because trains run on specific tracks laid on a particular area. Second, the journey is in a timely manner as there is a time table being followed, hence, no time is wasted and people can be guided accordingly with their itineraries. And lastly, a single journey usually covers inter-state and people can relax during their travel without being exhausted from driving. For example, bullet trains in Japan are very popular among tourists and locals because of its speed and strict departure and arrival times. Roads are more accessible to the general population. People could travel with more option and freedom, either by private cars or public vehicles. Although this is a good benefit, railways are still favourable as there is less accident reported compared to road mishaps. Reports show that accidents involving car collisions are on number 5 spot of mortality. In conclusion, railways are favourable because of its efficiency and safety. However, roads are advantageous because of their obvious conveniences and accessibility. If the government will spend money on roads, it is better to invest in high-quality road safety measures so transportation by trains or cars can be equally utilized by people.