Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

There are two contrast arguments about the effects of advertisement, the first one is its significant influence on customers to force them to buy items which are not really needed. The other one is the products advertised could aid users to improve their quality of life. In my opinion, I am convinced with the first argument and seemingly disagree with the last one because of some reasons that will be explained next. Firstly, writing in the statement of the advantage of advertising, this could tell customers that the new products may enhance their lives. Nevertheless, it is not utterly true, in fact, producers tend to over promote their products in order to sell as much as possible albeit nothing is actually good at the first version. For example, the first printer was used a long time ago but, at that time, it was not too helpful for people until its later versions were released, faster, more sufficient and effective. Secondly, it is about marketing. In other words, the final ambition of the producer is to get as much profit as they can. Thus, they tend to work out the best way to persuade us to buy items even if unnecessary. For example, there was a trend to buy washing machines last year after an attractive advertisement displayed on the TV. After a few days, people lined up in the local stores to buy washing machines. I had asked some people why they had to purchase a new washing machine even though they already had one, they answered it was because of the advertisement. Thus, it is clearly the bad effect of this kind of marketing. In conclusion, I agree with the idea that advertising may encourage people to buy unneeded things. However, being deceived or not to buy, it is also up to us. Thus, why not consider deliberately before purchasing items?