Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Discuss both views

The use of social- networking sites has been so popular these days among all walks of life. There are some people who think that the trend of sharing private information would bring some repercussions to society. However, in my opinion, I completely disagree with this view as the merits of this is huge. While many experts consider that displaying private details on social-media group can attract severe consequences. This means frauds use this piece of information for illegal activities and to earn money. For instance, by thefting identity of someone can use to catfish other vulnerable social- media users and it has been frequently reported these incidents are happening around the world. Therefore, providing vital information online can result in serious damages not only on to the person but others as well. However, the opponents of the above-mentioned argument think that when a user shares his or her whereabouts would assist to find out like-minded users and I firmly support this stand-point. In other words, they can actively participate in various forums that are only possible when they reveal their true persona online. Celebrities, for example, they often update their current location and what they are doing in real-time and this allows them to communicate with their fan followers. The benefits of this process are immense. In conclusion, people have a different opinion on revealing personal data on the internet. It is often believed this trend has some drawbacks as well. In my opinion, I consider the positive side of the argument since this helps netizens to showcase their valuable thoughts to a large group.