Countries should restrict foreign companies from opening offices and factories in order to protect local businesses. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons and specific examples to explain your answer

Businesses are the pillars of the economies in the world. Some believe that attracting foreign companies is necessary for the growth of any country while others are in favour of promoting local business. I agree with the former opinion. To begin with, the salient predominant reason behind my argument is that the foreign firms bring several employment opportunities for that country's people. Not only does it provide income for them, but it also helps in the manufacturing process of different products on their land, which makes them cheaper. For example, cars made in Canada are more affordable compare to the ones imported from the USA. Nevertheless, all these merits stand in good stead when it comes to foreign investment. On the other hand, the process of allowing outsider organizations hurts the local vendors. After some time, the business tycoons sell their product at almost no cost at which the retailers and small shops could not compete. Therefore, they lose their customer base. Moreover, putting everything under a roof attracts buyers to access what they want in one shot, which medium and small shops are unable to provide because of the limited space that they have. For example, Amazon is selling everything on their websites in which they deliver an easy solution for its customer base. Hence, it is apparent why many are against them. To conclude, it is true that local businesses are essential for an individual's growth. However, I think having more foreign buildings and plants impacts a vast base of people in the long run, where they can easily afford what they want.