The use of GM engineering hardly new, but many believe that it can be a good way to solve problems with overpopulation. Do you agree or disagree?

Recent advancements in genetic engineering can address pressing issues that the rapidly growing population is facing today. In my opinion, with many desirable traits having been bred into the genetic structure, genetically modified crops can potentially address today’s ever-growing demand for food. However, possible health implications caused by insufficiently researched genetic modification should not be overlooked. On the one hand, even though requiring less hazardous chemicals for growth, genetic engineering methods still raise agricultural productivity which is highly demanded by today’s population. With improved genome, crops become more resistant towards threats that natural plants are exposed to, such as viruses or fungi that can otherwise devastate yields. In addition, some selected traits can be bred to increase their tolerance to severe natural conditions, be it drought or a heatwave. As a natural result, genetically modified crops tend to have higher harvests without the application of environmentally dangerous pesticides, which in conventional farming are often a source of soil contamination. On the other hand, applying genetic engineering has aroused significant opposition as it may pose a threat to consumers’ health. Having undergone modification, the altered genome may be accepted as an allergen, provoking unpredictable side effects. Rapidly wide-spreading allergy for soybeans is just one example of such a disease, often linked to the increase in consumption of this modified product. Hence, products that are known to have transgenes require extended research and trials before being allowed to be consumed, demanding substantial investment that even though this may impede the advancement of genetic engineering. Therefore this scientific development may not be sufficiently mature today to address the shortage of food. In conclusion, despite the immeasurable potential of genetic engineering in fighting shortage in food supply caused by a rapidly growing population, products with changed genes should undergo rigorous control to ensure their safety for consumers. Therefore, in my opinion, other means to address this urgent food shortage need to be considered.