At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's rapidly changing world, the population growth has been at the highest level of all time. In this population boom, some countries have had a relatively larger growth in the number of young adults, compared to the number of older people. In my opinion, this is an advantageous situation and in this essay, I am gonna present a few supporting arguments for my opinion. It comes as no surprise that the younger and educated population of a country act as a backbone for the countries economy. In countries with a relatively younger population, the economic and wealth output has been quite stagnant in the past few years. For instance, take the case of India. It is the home to the largest number of youths in the world, close to around 500 Million. This along with a large number of available jobs has enabled India to become the 5th largest economy in the world, with the number of people having there net worth more than a million and/or a billion increasing rapidly per decade. Moreover, the large youth population of India also enables it to operate the 4th most powerful defence forces in the world who are ready to defend the integrity of the country. These are just a few of many advantages. All these factors go to show that a country with a relatively large population shows good economic and defence growth. On the other hand, since the apportion of relative population of older and younger people is not equal, the probability that the population of elderly population will decrease faster than that of the younger population is quite high. This can also have a few disadvantages. For example, it is the job of older people to give the necessary morals and values to young kids so that they can learn from it. Also, its quite important for a child to spend some time under the supervision of older people before he or she grows up. There are a few recorded cases in which young kids take on the wrong path in there life and end up doing horrific things. In avoiding this from happening, the morals and values taught by the older people can be really useful. These are just a few points which highlight the importance of the presence of older people in the life of the younger generation. So in summary, the availability of a relatively younger population compared to the older ones is important in order to have a rapid and sustainable economic and defence growth. But without the older people, the life of the younger children would have been quite different. Therefore, the advantages of having a relatively young population are far more than its disadvantages.