The government is spending a lot of money to discover life on the other planets. Some people think that the government is wasting money and should spend more money addressing the problems of the public. To what extent do you agree?

It is clear that nowadays there is a staggering amount of money being spent to finance research with the finality of finding out different types of life on other planets. There is no consensus on whether the government is spending money on a proper subject or there are more important topics such as public problems, that no receiving the proper treatment can directly affect the lives of several people. I fully agree with the latter statement, and in this essay, and I will support my view with examples. First of all, we are facing various public problems triggered by lack of appropriated government budget for areas, one example is the education, where there is a huge chaos, the salaries offered to professors are entirely outdated, which leads them to be demotivated and also makes them to inject their own money to buy resources. As a result of this, there has been a dramatic decrease in the education quality in Brazil when compared to other south American countries. In addition, another problem that can become bigger because of the lack of enough money invested is the quantity of homeless, we are witnessing a dramatic increase over the years on that, in comparison to the number of shelters available, besides that, there is no consistent plan to construct more units to increase the availability of vacancies. As a result, at the end of each day, it is possible to see a long line in front of the shelters, and at least half of them will spend one more entire night on the streets because they do not get a spare bed there and as a consequence of an inadequate government plan, the result is the escalation of the number of deaths during the winter due to the harsh temperatures. In conclusion, the quality of education and the increase of homeless in the cities are two examples among the other enormous public issues that need to be properly dressed prior to finance in research to discover lives on other planets.