International travel is becoming coming cheaper and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourist. Do the advantage of increased tourists outweigh disadvantages.

The tourism industry has markedly grown in recent years. Such growth relates to the recent policies of many countries wide-opening the country for travellers to enjoy. This essay will discuss the recent tourism phenomenon and the reasons why is advantageous for countries to invest in the travel industry. The main reason why countries are willing to accept more tourists is monetary. The tourism industry has brought to many countries a huge source of income, plenty of investments, and an increase in job opportunities. Though some people argue that the spike of tourists would impact cities with a high concentration of nature and beauty, that did not hold true as countries have developed sustainable tourism with multiple land-protection policies. In Thailand, for instance, certain islands have a maximum visitors per day policy to protect nature. Therefore, the country is able to benefit from the money generated by travellers while also protecting their land. That being said, the growth in the number of travellers has the potential to create a society of people with more cultural knowledge. Considering the global cities we live in, it seems only logical that we learn about other cultures. And it is when we understand others that we are able to build a community which respects diversity. The city of Toronto, for example, has people from all over the world living in harmony and respect. As a result, the city is also one of the most developed cities in the world, which leads to believe that when people embrace differences amazing things can be done. Thus, the higher the cultural knowledge the more society is able to cope with differences. In conclusion, tourism has phenomenal potential to a country, with benefits far greater than its drawbacks. Therefore, accepting tourists will impact not only the country's finance but also its societal environment.