All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity. How could it be tackled.

Nowadays the number of overweight people is increasing at an alarming rate between all age groups. This essay will discuss the main reasons for this epidemic and how to manage this problem. The foremost cause of obesity that the majority of people do not lead a healthy and balanced diet. Nowadays people are busier than ever before; so they prefer to buy fast or junk food rather than homemade eats. These are usually high in added sugar, salt and saturated or trans fats, and it leads to obesity. For example, a recent survey conducted among the school children and working-class revealed that 40% consume fast food every day. Moreover, people skip breakfast and take snacks continuously and at night eat a heavy dinner. Another reason is that the sedentary lifestyle of persons. Most of the office jobs these days demand to sit in front of the computer for long hours. As technology progresses, their life is limited to the internet, video games and social networking site. They are not interested in any physical activity. For instance, The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey showed a strong relationship between physical inactivity and weight gain. To handle this issue every individual should be made aware of the importance of being healthy. Practice healthy and natural food like fruits and vegetables. There can be more awareness programs in schools, offices as well as media. Furthermore, authorities should establish more recreational activities like the park, health club and promote yoga. Besides, the government should impose more tax on fast food. In conclusion, unsound lifestyle and inappropriate dietary habits cause obese. Promoting healthy lifestyles and creating awareness about the detrimental effects are the only solution to address this issue.