As well as making money, businesses should have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, community service has become a major factor in the industrial sector. It is argued that companies should treat their community as equally as when making profits. I agree with the above statement and I will explain why throughout this essay. A business can be considered as a part of society. The prevailing of the business depends on the well-being of the people associated with it. If a business focuses on financials rather than its public duty, more often than not, the organization will fail. For instance, the recent outbreak of COVID19 virus in Sri Lanka happened because a famous company ignored the symptoms of their workers and kept asking them to continue working. Not only the company failed in keeping the good health of its employees, but also it lost most of its income as well. Thus, industries should look after society while generating cash. Moreover, providing social service is a way of marketing your brand. An organization can get more attention by doing public service. That can actually help businesses to earn many valuable deals which result in increased profits. For example, recently a famous pharmacy chain in India has conducted free medical checkups for children in Africa. It has attracted vast attention from all over the world and many people even started buying their products online which generated a passive income. Hence, looking after the public can actually increase a company's gains. To sum up, It is true that employers should not only focus on monetary gains but also serving the public because society as a whole is the key for an organization's success and it can actually generate increased income.