Many people around the world use social media to keep in touch with other people and get the news. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays many individuals around the world use social media platforms to contact families and friends and get the news. Despite the the negative effects of using social media on there health, I believe that using them allows people to contact their loved ones from far places. Using social media can have a negative impact on people's health. This is because the platforms are designed to attract people to use them and make them procrastinate and spend more time on their phones which leads them to become addicted. This addiction causes many health issues such as depression, loss of sight, anxiety and brain damage due to the overwatch of short videos. For example, the US government is trying to ban the TikTok platform in their country due to the health issues that the short videos cause. However, I believe people need these programs to get news and keep in touch with people they love. Social media gives people the chance to know about the world around them and contact their beloved ones. These programs allow people to talk with their families especially when they live far away from each other and give them the opportunity to know individuals from other countries. Also, using social media helps people to have knowledge of the world around them and know new rules in their countries by getting the news from these platforms. For instance, nearly one million people from Saudi Arabia follow the Saudi News account on Instagram to get news. Therefore, I think using social media programs are helpful to individuals. In conclusion, although using social programs can negatively affect the users' health, many people nowadays use them to contact their families and know what is going on in the world. Therefore, these apps can have a positive impact on people's lives.