Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small number of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are certain languages which are endangered due to a few speakers left in the whole world. While some argue that tax money should be utilized to rescue these languages, others consider it a waste as several areas worth it more, namely, education and health sectors. In my perspective, it is a matter of grave importance to save a part of our history; therefore, a small portion of the annual budget could be assigned to it. The supports of spending money on saving languages present the argument that these are a vital part of our culture and must be treasured for our coming generations. For example, by transferring the language in printed form and translating its literature would help a lot, additionally, it would not cost us an arm and a leg. By having that done, this piece of heritage would be saved forever and could be a source of knowledge for our upcoming generations. Hence, it has to be done through a proper channel and government have to play its role. On the contrary, others disagree with the aforementioned point of view by saying that there are other sectors such as health and education worth more to be invested on. Which means that spending taxpayers money on the things which have no positive impact on society cannot be justified. For instance, the development budget must be invested in catering the poor, educating the kids and finding the cures for harmful diseases. Thus, the rest of the factors are secondary and it would be a waste if funded. In conclusion, It is undoubtedly true that a number of languages are on the verge of disappearance due to the limited users of them. Some often argue that the government should invest from the budget to save them while others disagree. In my opinion, a portion of funds could be dedicated to it because it is a part of our heritage.