Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

Some cities tackle housing issues by building skyscrapers, while others decide to construct detached houses in the countryside. The second solution is better as it helps to increase the quality of life and it can be cheaper. First of all, living in a private house can improve the level of human life as they will have an unlimited access to fresh air and will become healthier in mental and physical aspects. For example, a private house can include a backyard territory where owners can create a garden with flowers and fruit trees. Moreover, quite often lakes and forests are located near settlements. Consequently, village citizens have an ability to walk there. Thus, fresh air, physical activities and easy-going atmosphere make detached houses a better solution. Secondly, countryside accommodation can be considered as a cheaper option than a flat in the city as the price of the land in the city center sometimes can be extremely high and not everyone can allow to buy it. For instance, an accommodation in a big megapolis such as Moscow is quite expensive and sometimes it is unreal to own it even for the middle-class representatives. Furthermore, some people have no wish and ability to take a mortgage and prefer to purchase a house which is located a bit far from downtown. Hence, countryside houses can help people to get a place for living at an affordable price. To sum up, the decision to construct houses on a wider land area is a better variant as it is affordable almost for everyone. Also, it increases the quality of life.