Stress is now a major problem in many countries around the world. What are some of the factors in modern society that cause this stress, and how can we reduce it?

Nowadays, it is being observed that stress is the main issue in most countries throughout the world. Having a stressful life is seen to be increasing rapidly among the younger generation and it has now become a big concern in a majority of the nations across the world. This essay will discuss that, working overtime and being under lots of pressure in life are some of the aspects in modern society that cause stress, while leisure activities and taking holidays can help to decrease it. Working for long hours in order to get a faster promotion has led many people to a stressful lifestyle. This situation where a person does not have time for personal activities may increase mental health problems. Moreover, in large cities, frequently a long duration of the day is spent in travelling from office to home and back, which further causes irritation. For example, a recent survey in São Paulo about the stress level experienced by the employees of a company showed that the two major reasons were time spent commuting to work and demanding work. Another important factor that causes stress in modern life is to be under pressure. Many people in the world are involved in financial issues due to economic stagnation and inflation. Financial problems expose people to stress and anxiety. Despite all this, there are many ways to minimize the stressful life in order to have a balanced lifestyle. It includes doing leisure activities, physical exercises or taking frequent small breaks from the job. For instance, taking a short trip to explore someplace will help to relax the mind. Therefore, we should keep these things in mind to avoid getting mentally sick. In conclusion, although stress issues are present in modern society, having a balanced lifestyle will avoid or minimize those problems.