In some countries, there is not enough recycling of waste materials (e.g. paper, glass, and cans). What are the reasons and solutions?

Nowadays, recycling of waste materials such as paper and glass is a critical issue for the global society. However, some countries still have difficulties due to multiple reasons. This essay will explain that with examples as well as providing some solutions. The lack of recycling could mainly result in policy and technology. On the one hand, the absence of clear laws and rules of environmental protection could highly affect waste recycling. Since it is more complex to throw the rubbish according to types of material than put them together in one single trash bag, people are unlikely to strictly follow the recycling instructions unless the law forces them. For instance, Japan has a perplex system of national laws as well as local rules for garbage classification, which establishes this country as a bright sample in waste material recycling. On the other hand, those countries with a low rate of recycling may have difficulties with the technology. It is so essential for technology to transfer the rubbish into valuable resources. Without that, there would be no choice but to abandon the concept of recycling. According to the above reasons, it is clear we may solve such a situation from two aspects. First, the government should actively make laws to encourage citizens to recycle the materials. It can not only force them to have an eye on what they are throwing but also foster a sense of environmentally friendly on using resources within the community. Second, international cooperation should be established to develop advanced technology in recycling, increasing the transferring rate of rubbish to resources across the planet. In conclusion, although there is a situation of inefficient recycling in many countries around the world, it would be improved by establishing laws and technology sharing.