Children are now less active in their free time than in the past. Therefore, sports lessons must be compulsory in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The debate about whether sports lessons must be compulsory in schools is a prominent one due to the fact that children are now less active in their free time compared to the past. I agree with this statement and believe that sports are essential for children's health. To elaborate, the preferred activities of children outside of school hours have changed over the years. Children have become less active in physical activities and focus more on social media and relaxing. Therefore, sports classes should be compulsory in schools. Nevertheless, the kinds of sports children play should be selected by themselves. In addition, schools should provide numerous sports classes for children to choose from according to their preferences. In the US, for instance, they offer many sports classes, such as football, tennis and baseball classes, for high schoolers. Moreover, they also provide sports clubs and teams for sports lovers to join after school hours. Participating in sports teams can also benefit students in various ways, such as building strong relationships between members and creating pride in the players themselves. Furthermore, involving in sports will benefit children's health much more than spending time in front of their screens. This will also give children numerous skills such as teamwork skills. This skill will not only be useful for children through their education but also help towards their professional eras. In conclusion, I agree that schools should consider sports lessons as a compulsory course due to the fact that they improve children's health and skills that will be useful both in the present and in their later lives.