The government has the duty to ensure that its citizens have a healthy diet, while others believe this is individuals’ responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since the quality of life improved in recent decades, an increasing number of people turn to consider living a balanced lifestyle and maintaining their physical health. Some people claimed that the authority has the duty to guarantee its citizens having a healthy diet, but others disagree with it and they think the individual should be able to take this responsibility. In my opinion, I believe that everyone is the main character of the duty but the authority should also provide supports which will be beneficial for society. On the one hand, the authority should take the responsibility to encourage their citizens to maintain health because improving well-being can dramatically benefit the societies and the countries. To be more specific, the most important change is cutting down enormous costs on medical care. At the same time, the countries will own higher quality of labour force which obviously can bring more output and contributions to society. For instance, a healthy worker can earn ten thousand dollars a month to make a living while he nearly spends no money on hospital and medicines as he maintains a healthy diet. In that case, the authority may not have to provide much fitness insurance on this person, meanwhile, he brings great tax revenues to the country. Hence, the government should be a part of this process to improve people’s well-being as it can bring advantages to the community. On the other hand, even though the authorities can be one of the roles taking duties, individuals should take the main responsibility in this process. It is because maintaining health required the determination and willpower of human beings, not other organizations or communities. For instance, when we try to have a healthy diet, we are going to have no soft drinks, no deep-fried chickens and no couch potato behaviour. Instead, we need to exercise regularly, intake green or even organic foods, and drink tea or water. With the plate flavour and muscle ache, a healthy lifestyle obviously brings less short-term joys to our bodies. No matter what supports provided by exteriors, the most important thing is we have the awareness of being healthy so that we can stick on this kind of boring diets. In conclusion, it is undeniable that power plays a role in helping its residents to have a healthy lifestyle, but human beings themselves are a vital part of this process in the long run.