Since the 18th century technological advances have replaced people in the workplace. With today’s technology this process is happening at a greater rate. Technology is increasingly responsible for unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the modern world, technology has become one of the most essentials. Some belief it has taken over people's day jobs and it happening at a rapid rate. And the world claims that growth of the automation is accountable for raising the Unemployment problem. However, I partly agree with the above statement and throughout this essay,I will explain why. The reason why I do not agree on the above statement is, to develop those high-tech advance we are using people who are qualified in this field. In other words, to create the software you need human knowledge. As a result, people who are experienced in Information Technology subjects will have more jobs opening than ever before. For example, a study done in London found out that, last 10 years’ time their unemployment rate has reduced by 55% because of the growth of technological advance. Thus, it is certain that automation generates more occupations to society. On the other hand, machines reduce labour, save time and the value of the product can cause cutback in the society. In many countries supermarket,self-checkout counters are a common thing. It can reduce the amount of labour by reducing cashiers. For instance, a few years ago I lost my casual position in a supermarket due to the instalment of new self-checkout counters. Hence, automation has caused cutback since it lowers the production price and saves time. To sum up, even though, the Advance of technology causing fewer job openings because of time and cost-saving, there are more new IT positions coming to the community to reduce cutback.