Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Although nowadays commercials are essential for creating positive brand image, there is a general belief that some of the adverts make use of immoral or inappropriate content. I fully agree with this view. First of all, it is important to mention, that some adverts create unrealistic or misleading image of the product resulting in customers dissatisfaction. For instance, diet pills are claimed to be an easy way for getting slim, however, no information about possible side effects is mentioned in the ads. As a result, such ads just give empty promises to people, who understand that there are many hidden details only after purchasing this product. Furthermore, most commercials are really disturbing and forcing people to make impulsive decision. A person may have no need in purchasing a particular thing, however, the more he or she is exposes to the ads, the more one feels the urge to make a purchase. Moreover, some advertisements and promotions specifically target children and teenagers, who are especially vulnerable to any pressure. After watching the ads with their favorite stars they can’t just resist the urge to buy a product, which may lead to a damaging effect if they don’t get it. It also creates additional financial burden for their parents trying to put up with the demand of their children and make them feel satisfied. To conclude, I would like to say that although advertising plays an important role in marketing, it still has a lot of undesirable effects, which should be better regulated.