Some cities create new housing for their growing populations by constructing a smaller number of high-rise buildings. Other cities create more of low-rise buildings. Which solution is better, in your opinion?

Rising population in urban areas leave government no choice but to make more buildings to accommodate more people. However, when it comes to construction, there are more than one ways to build new homes. Some cities prefer to build a low number of tall buildings, while others construct a large number of low rise buildings. According to me, both have their own pros and cons based on location availability. There are numerous advantages of constructing tall buildings. First and foremost is, it can accommodate more number of people, which is the best solution when a government has less land to allocate. For example, 55% of New York citizens live-in towers in order to match the uprising demand for housing. Furthermore, as there are enough houses for everyone, the rent is always less. So, it positively affects the economy and citizen's lifestyle. However, on the downside, such structures offer less or no privacy, that is the main concern. Also, every resident has to follow certain rules resulting in restriction instead of freedom. Concurrently, proponents of low-rise building mention that it works best for big families or join families, where the whole family can live together ensuring to have a family bonding. In addition to this, the elder generation finds more conform in private houses, as it gives them the flexibility to move freely. Despite the advantage, there are some downsides of such construction. For instance, it requires more land so there are possibilities that working people might have to travel more to reach their destination, resulting as a negative effect on their lifestyle. To recapitulate, I believe both types of structure have their own merits and demerits. In fact, it highly depends on the city council, if they have more land, more elderly generation, and better transport system then low-rise buildings are suitable, otherwise highrise towers.