Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent days, some academicians believe that it is better to introduce a foreign language in elementary school than in secondary school. I agree with this idea and I believe that this brings more merits than drawbacks. One of the major benefits of introducing a new language early on is that it helps the child gain higher levels of proficiency in it. If children don't learn other languages from such an early age, it would be more difficult for them to be fluent in them. Another advantage of learning an additional language is that it enhances the child’s cognitive skills. Studies have shown that multilingual people are smarter than monolingual people. It is no surprise then that Albert Einstein spoke five different languages from a young age and he was undoubtedly one of the greatest minds on earth. A potential disadvantage of learning multiple languages in primary school is that the child may confuse the foreign dialect and their native tongue. As a result, they may take longer to achieve fluency in their mother tongue. For example, we sometimes see that children born and brought up outside India have difficulty in conversing with their family in their native language. However, in my opinion, if parents make it a point to speak to their children in their mother tongue, this problem can be resolved easily. Another disadvantage of adding a new language to the primary school curriculum is that it puts an extra burden on children. Children already have a lot of subjects to learn and a new language can make the syllabus even heavier. However, in the long run, children would get use to studying many languages at the same time and they would not get confused like before. In conclusion, educating children to be multilingual from an early age promotes better language skills and a higher IQ in them. Parents and teachers just need to ensure that the new language does not become a burden for the kids.l