In this technological era, personal information is stored on computers by many companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With an ever-increasing concern about how to handle electronic personal data storage issues, some individuals may have opined that cloud storage has an inevitable advantage. This essay will, however, provide some reasons why I strongly believe electronic data processing exerts a negative effect on corporations. To begin with, some individuals may argue that electronic data conversion offers more advantages. Since electronic data storage allows corporations to use fewer resources such as paper, toner, printers and human labour needed to organize the printed documents, they can maximize their profits by storing data on computers. Moreover, reducing the consumption of natural resources leads to environmentally sustainable corporations which bring eco-friendly images that help to have favourable brand portraits to the public. Therefore, those corporations can benefit from the activated implementation of electronic information storage. Despite the reasons mentioned above, I completely contend that this trend will ultimately deteriorate the entire society in the long term. Providing a few agreements on previous opinions, and moving to other oppositions can illuminate a different perspective. Relying on personal data on computers puts citizens exposed to online crimes due to the greater number of attempts to hack a corporation’s databases by digital hackers. For instance, when Korea’s most popular web search engine Naver was hacked, it allowed 240,000 citizens’ personal data to be exposed to identity theft and voice phishing crimes. Considering that the risk of being hacked by hackers can lead to a huge amount of financial loss and losing trust from clients will have a massive impact on business. In conclusion, some individuals think that cloud storage on computers has more benefits. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that more consideration of other parties’ facing issues should be taken into account to achieve more sustainable advantages.