In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try had enough What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It has been argued about the impact on teaching a child the relationship between the effort put in action and its result. Some communities claim that as much as you work you will be rewarded. This essay discusses both sides of this argument and points out some merits and downsides of this issue. One of the cogent reasons why such thought should be taught is related to its impact on children’s education. As they will dream about being a scientist, an astronaut or a doctor and these professions require a lot of studies, children will be motivated to study in order to follow their dream. When I was at school, my teachers used to bring different professionals to talk about their work and the importance of studying hard. In addition, considering that children might want to follow their parents’ lifestyle, children will be helpful to their parent, at home or in a family’s business. In fact, there are many families that run their business for generations, with thoughts passed from father to sons and daughters. However, there are many drawbacks associated with this way of teaching, one of which is related to the frustration and anxiety caused by not receiving the expected outcome. If you have been told about receiving something after doing certain things, you would expect a reward. Due to this fact, children might be frustrated as putting a considerable amount of effort would not result in what you want. Recent statistics have highlighted an alarming number of children with psychologic problems caused by these dilemmas. In conclusion, even though teaching hard work resulting in the desirable achievement might create frustration and anxiety, I would like to reiterate the benefits of this thought, in terms of stimulus to study as well as supporting children at home.