The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern day life style. What are the advantages of this trend ? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, Convenience foods can be readily found anywhere for a quick bite. The growth in popularity of convenience foods has helped consumers to keep up with the fast-paced lifestyle of the modern world. In this essay,I will point out the disadvantages and the advantages of consuming convenience foods and give my opinion on why it is beneficial to do the same. First and foremost, one of the disadvantages that the consumption of convenience goods might have is the added preservatives in order to increase the shelf life of the product. These preservatives may deteriorate the health of the consumers in the long run. For Instance, the cold turkey sandwich from the convenience store Seven-Eleven has added preservatives so that it stays edible for longer periods of time in case it is not selling at a pace expected by the seller, which has been shown in the scientific studies to increase the risk of colon cancer. The most significant advantage of having convenience foods is that it can be consumed in case a person is in a hurry and wants to satiate their hunger. For Example, if a person has a lot of meetings on Monday and doesn't have the time to grab a proper lunch, he or she can buy a packet of hot pocket which is readily available in a plethora of convenience stores. This helps a person to keep their minds focused on their work without getting distracted by a hungry abdomen. In Conclusion, I would like to point out that although consuming convenience foods is harmful in the long run, having them on an occasional basis in case of an emergency is not only going to be extremely convenient but also won't cause health problems in the long run.