Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others , however , believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Although sometimes is thought that drivers should be strictly punished for driving infractions, other people believe that there are other ways to decrease car accidents. In my opinion, I consider that high fines avoid drivers to commit the same infraction several times for the same reason. On the one hand, people think that the high fines and other strict punishments bring about the rising consciousness among drivers which I agree. In other words, when a driver is imposed to pay for his infraction this somehow lead him to learn about that infraction, therefore, he will not make the same mistake in a second opportunity. Secondly, when people fork out paying fines all the money paid can be used for the State to elevate the number of safety and surveillance within the streets, as a consequence, reducing the number of car accidents. On the other hand, it is often believed that education is the best way to protect the community from car crashed numbers. This means that giving drivers all the information needed is rather than just make them pay for their mistakes. To illustrate, some countries had adopted a punctuation system when they watched the numbers of a car crashed rise. This system consists of making drivers to attending a school driving since they reach a certain number of points for each infraction, thus, they go back to school to refresh all the knowledge acquired years ago when they got the first license. It is also believed that a simple notification is enough. Sometimes drivers just do not know, for example, the speed limit of a road or street owing to the lack of information in the area, however, they end-up committing the infraction, as a consequence, they can not be fined since the fault is not them. In conclusion, both sides have their merits but I believe that the only way to guarantee community safety is by imposing strict fines.