Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people think the school's rewarding system should be result-oriented, while others think that a student's effort should be valued more. While the former point of view focuses more on absolute attainment among all students the latter focuses more on a relative degree of an endeavour of each student individually. Both points of views will be thoroughly analysed and discussed before drawing a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, schools that reward only students with the highest results could often indirectly produce an unbalanced environment by favouring only students that excel at something regardless of their effort. For instance, students that are naturally gifted and predisposed to a certain subject will excel there without much work. This could be beneficial for student's motivation in the beginning, but since they are prized solely on their achievement, which could be without much struggle, students might be used to rely only on their talent. Consequently, once those students run into more complex and challenging tasks they might underestimate hard work thinking that they will complete it without much preparation as before which could bring unsatisfactory results in the end. Secondly, those schools that reward positive trends in student's marks independently of their capabilities, will frequently motivate all students to always aim for higher. For example, at the beginning of learning an unfamiliar matter, a student might find it enormously hard to grasp some concepts and could lose motivation. But if awarded for the perseverance of solving those obstacles, the student could gain immense encouragement to continue improving upon their skills. Thus, this approach will give them even more motivation to excel in subjects they thought they were not predestined for. To summarise, schools that highly value and award exclusively result-oriented students undervalue the group of students that would be eager to advance in small steps. On the other hand, schools that motivate all students to strive for hard-work and focus more on a process rather than on the outcome, will, in the end, show better overall results. After thorough analysis, in the essence, schools should give the advantage of nurture over nature and should be process-oriented instead of result-oriented.