Psychologists have known for many years that color can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to color schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does color influence people’s health and capacity for work?

It has been known by psychologists for several years that colour can influence people's emotions, therefore colour schemes used in decorating hospitals and offices should be chosen carefully. I strongly believe that colour can influence wellbeing and work capacity to a great extent as it is an integral part of daily living from traffic lights used in regulating traffic to bright coloured flowers used in beautifying parks. Many organisations have company colours and they are often used to sway consumers during advertising. For example, gold may be used to portray luxury, while pastel pink might suggest femininity. Office rooms are commonly painted with cool non-distracting colours while decorations are made as minimalist as possible to reduce distractions hence enabling workers to focus better. Hospitals also use colour to influence health. For example, wards are usually painted in cool calming colours with the hope to alleviate some of the stress associated with being in a hospital environment. Also, pediatric wards generally have bright coloured walls and/or decorations which are at least visually stimulating to the children, and at best distracting from the fact that they are away from home. Another example of the use of colour in a hospital environment is the fact that operating theatres generally have white walls as this reflects light for better visibility of the surgeon. In conclusion, it is important to use suitably appropriate colours when decorating offices and hospitals, as it is a subtle method of improving workplace productivity, and reducing anxiety thereby promoting health and wellbeing in hospitals.