In many parts of the world, families were larger in the past because people had more children. Do you think there were more advantages or disadvantages to being part of a large family in the past? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In most of the nations, there was a general concept of having a lot of offsprings and living as a big family. Although it was a social belief that having a more male child was a symbol of inheriting fortune in near future. This essay will outline some of the advantages and disadvantages of this topic. To begin with, this practice was adopted in the old world by the royals, dukes, or lords for instance; where having more children means better chances of increasing their territory and lineage. As there was a constant war for territorial ownership, even if any of the siblings would fall in the battle, there would still be their brothers or sisters to continue the family name. Moreover, this idea was also followed by the peasants, where they fundamentally believed that having additional boys means more number of earning numbers in the family and they could live a good financial life. However, this kind of thinking is problematic and harmful not only to the couples bearing those children but also to their siblings. Secondly, having a large number of families in today's world is very difficult to manage not only in terms of upbringing but also in fulfilling them their basic needs; for example - there was a neighboring family in my native village, where the couple had five daughters and six sons. The father was a poor farmer and was striving his best to earn end's meet. I always remember seeing their offsprings in old torn clothes and some being malnourished. Hence having these many youngsters takes a serious toll on the overall development of the household. To conclude, it was custom of the old world that bearing so many toddlers maybe was justified at that point in time but having the same thought process in this modern world gives one nothing but misery.