Due to the rapid development and expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The trend of supermarkets is becoming widespread in some nations and, it could have an adverse effect on the small, traditional business establishments in the particular vicinity. I believe, that this trend of megastores could become a reason for the wind up of local trade units which in-turn will contribute to the vanishing of local communities. The livelihood of the majority of the people depends on the trade and if marts entirely takeover the traditional market in an area, it will lead to the financial crisis among numerous families residing there. To further explain this point, local retail sellers cannot compete with the megastores as they provide discount prices because of their supplies which comes directly from the manufacturers and producers, thus these local business units will have to sell at non-affordable prices. For instance, local farmers in a village near my house used to sell their harvest of fruits and vegetables in the town market at a good price but since the day megastores started operations, the farmers had to either sell at low prices to customers or to those megastores. In addition, to the above-mentioned point, the economic strength of the local community will decline with the monopoly of supermarkets. The revenue generated from the local business makes the money flow within the community itself, thus strengthening the living standards of the native people. However, if megastores are to be considered, the revenue generated does get distributed among the locals which, may lead to the depletion in the per capita income of local inhabitants. Due to the reduction in the earnings, people will face difficulties in sustaining good lifestyle and may even hinder the quality of education for their children. In conclusion, the supermarkets have serious effects on the local business and this may lead to the collapse of the local economy. Moreover, the revenue generation and distribution get imbalanced in a society leading to the situation of misery for most of the native inhabitants. Considering the above reasons I strongly agree, that the expansion and operations of megastores should be checked and regularized.