Ensuring that children have regular physical exercise should be the responsibility of parents and therefore schools should not waste valuable school time having sports lessons as a part of curriculum. To what extent do you agree?

Some people argue that the responsibility for children to have a regular physical exercise should be of the parents. So schools should not waste valuable school time having sports lessons as a part of the study curriculum. I strongly disagree with the previous statement for several reasons. Firstly, sport is something essential for children as it could improve their lifestyle and could bring benefit to their health. Moreover, sport helps children to establish relationship and team working skills. For instance, recent studies suggest that a vast majority (nearly 80%) of children that practice sports in early years are more likely to avoid certain illness such as diabetes and overweight in the next years. Secondly, as we said before, sport is a mean of socialization. Children that exercise at school will join a squad, therefore they will be forced to deal with team-play and, as a result, they can learn how to maintain a relationship and how to deal with other members of the company. To cite an example, when I was young I was playing in a football team, the relation among the squad players that comes out is so strong that nowadays, after more than 15 years, we continue to meet each other on a regular basis. To sum up, I believe that both schools and parents need to teach to children how important and beneficial athletics could be for their future, also the number of students involved in sports activities could be improved by creating personalized lessons based on students preferences about different sports.