Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at school and at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that watching television can be an effective way to teach children so parents and teacher should encourage them to watch television frequently at school and home. I strongly disagree with this statement and think that allowing children to spend more time watching TV can lead to affect negatively on child development and may cause obesity problem. Permitting Children to watch TV more often can impact on their development process. Children should spend more time with their parents and teacher to build strong abilities especially the verbal ones instead of sitting in font of the TV all day for learning purpose. Also, children need to be involved in various activities to boost their psychosocial and emotional skills along with discipline behavior. The more children encourage to watch TV, the less these abilities can be developed. For example, the children learn their communication skills from the conversation with adults - teachers, parents, caregivers – so their language is built up properly, and this is what cannot be gained by allowing the child to watch television that often. Moreover, sitting at home or school to watch TV can cause obesity for most children. They will be more likely to watch TV instead of playing outside with others or attending Physical education classes. This can increase the prospect of making a child overweighted. A recent study shows that one of watching TV for more than 4 hours a day is considered one of the main factor of increasing obesity rate among children. In conclusion, TV can be one of the methods to teach children effectively, but encouraging them to watch regularly can cause some child development issues, as well as increasing the probability of obesity.