Creative artists should always be given freedom to express their own ideas (in words, music, pictures or films) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Creative artists from all over the world and time are important players to the development of our culture. They are especialized in bringing up discussions, questions, inspiration and to materialize the imagination in artworks and masterpieces. Although they are often criticised for crossing limits and offending some people, I tend to agree that the governments should not interfere in their work. Firstly, the restrictions of an authority over a culture and arts are dangerous. Through History, it was the actors from theathers, painters and writers that would encourage people to fight for justice, freedom and their identities. Even more, artists are the first targets when authoritarian leaders take over power, followed by their supporters. Another point to considerer is that the control over any culture, as the first nations or minorities, is a war strategy for eliminating the different ones. Music, films, paintings, novels, dance and rituals are capable of perpetuate the diversity and the memory of whole civilizations. Finally, the power of imagination can be inate to humans, but it takes exercise and pratice to achieve its high potencial. It was this very ability, to imagine and to create without limits, that allowed humankind to transform the natural world into a real and virtual world at the same time. In conclusion, the freedom to express a point of view through art is healthy for democracies and memory, constantly changing and suffering from erasement. It is a celebration of the presence of each one and the inspiration for everyone.