It’s believed that people who read for pleasure develop their imagination more and acquire better language skills compared to people who prefer watching television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, reading can be very enjoyable and educative as well. However, some people prefer watching shows and programs for relaxation, I believe that reading is very important if an individual wants to improve their creative and imaginative side. Although, this essay will examine both viewpoints and provide a plausible conclusion. To begin with, books contain a vast array of valuable information in general and they enable individuals to learn things they never knew before. For example, there are so many novels that have been recommended as a 'must-read' such as Moby-Dick and Things Fall Apart, written by Herman Melville and Chinua Achebe respectively. These books tend to shed light on historical events, hence their popularity. They are also helpful in building vocabulary and support creative thinking. However, although reading has many advantages, watching telly has a plethora of benefits. Notwithstanding, watching the TV set has become popular today. Many people watch the news on the telly and are able to keep up with important events around the globe. For, example, during the onset of the novel coronavirus outbreak, individuals including myself, were able to keep up with the spread of the virus and learn ways to prevent getting infected by watching the telly. Many older people also enjoy watching soap operas and interesting game shows on the TV set. Youths also enjoy watching sporting events as well. In conclusion, reading is very beneficial for both young and old persons, as it can greatly increase a persons ability to think in a creative manner while teaching new vocabulary. However, watching telly can prove to be very enjoyable. This goes to show that both activities can be equally rewarding.