Many people continue using cars and motorcycles even though they know that they are bad for the environment.Why is this? What can be done to reduce the use of these vehicles?

Many people continue to use private motor vehicles like cars and motorcycles despite knowing the fact that it is harmful to the environment. This may be because people think it saves time and it is comfortable to travel in their own private vehicles. The first and foremost recent behind such a behaviour of the people might be,their thinking that it is time -saving. In other words, individuals think they can reach their destination more quickly compared to travelling by other means. This is because of the fact that nobody has time to work and every minute is precious for them. Thus saving even a little bit of time matters a lot. Secondly, people believe that it is more convenient and comfortable to travel in personal vehicles rather than opting for public transport or simply taking a walk.By using their own cars and motorcycles they don't have to think about other people also they should not be worried about the timing of the travel.Whereas, in the case of public transport service, they have to wait for it. The over usage of vehicles on the road is a very big problem concerning the environment. This can be solved much effectively by the government.The authorities concerned should take a look at the problem and its after-effects, this introducing certain norms which will cut down the number of vehicles on the road. This would probably reduce pollution.In Delhi for instance, the state government decided to pass out a rule in which the vehicles ending with odd and even numbers would have a certain day allocated for them to run on the roads and must use public transport during these days. This was very effective and helped in reducing air pollution. Furthermore, the government can also work on improving the public transport facilities which would,in turn, attract more people in using these services instead of cars and motorcycles. In conclusion, even though people are aware of the effects of cars and motorcycles on the environment they still tend to use it. This is because it saves time and is convenient for them.By introducing some government norms and developing the public transport system, the pollution could be kept at bay and can protect the environment.