Some companies sponsor sports to advertise themselves. Some people say it is good while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often seen that numerous well-known businesses choose sport teams as a means of advertising their brands and would spend a great deal of money in this way. Although some people are against this action, it is favoured by many. This essay would discuss both sides of the argument and mention the two main reasons why its benefits outweigh its disadvantages. On the one hand, this action is opposed by a percentage of the society. Currently, they argue, there is a growing number of low-quality products being presented to consumers using sports. This increasing number would mean a growing population of unsatisfied customers who were convinced to buy the products just beacuse their lovely teams were advertising them but later, proved to be a waste of money. Thus, the chances are there would be tensions among consumers, companies and sport teams. On the other hand, it is strongly supported by the rest of the society for two leading reasons. Firstly, it could be economical for businesses. Generally, the advertisement fee in sports would be considerably cheaper compared to the same fee in mainstream media such as TV. Clearly, by paying less amount of money in this regard, they would afford more ads and therefore, their sales would be sharply increased which in the end, would be a contributing factor for boosting the economy. Furthermore, it would be a great help for teams in terms of revenue. Take football as an example. Broadly speaking, apart form two or three wealthy teams, the rest are struggling with financial problems which would make them unable to hire professional players. Therefore, they would not achieve acceptable results and fail to live up to their fans' expectations. Given the money that companies are ready and willing to pay, most of them would be presumably able to to employ new and talented players who would positively affect the teams' perfomances. All in all, sport teams would be a great option when it comes to advertising brands and products and the way I see it, is that its advantages should be considered more crucial than its negetive points.