As global trade increases, many goods, including those we use on a daily basis, are produced in other countries and have to be transported long distances. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

With the passage of time, as a result of the increase on the global demand of goods, some countries have decided to make essential products on other countries, which means that they will need to travel long distances before arriving at their destinations. Despite this strategy had some positive effects on the global economy, this essay will argue that in overall it has more drawbacks. Firstly, making goods in other countries results in fewer labour opportunities for local people. As manufactures companies are located in other countries, which causes hundreds of manual labours jobs are lost. An example of this can be seen when Ford moved its manufacture company to China, which resulted in leaving one million people who work there without a job. Secondly, in the case of a pandemic if goods can not be transported to the country of destination, there will be a lack of product needed to cover the demand. Although some companies would still operate and try to deliver the products, some international borders could be close and the goods might not be able to be transported. For instance, when the Covid-19 was at its peak, Target was not able to export day to day goods such as pens and toys. Despite this, one positive aspect of making products in other countries is that companies can make more goods with less money. This happens as the manual labour is cheaper, so companies can employ more manual labour workers, and therefore increase the goods’ production. For example, Kmart states that with the money that they would spend in manual labour on Australia, in China they can employ the double of workers. In conclusion, as the demand for goods is higher than before, companies have had to produce their goods in other countries. Therefore, this has contributed to companies been able to produce more goods at a ower cost. However, I consider that it has more negative effects on people, as it could result in people losing their jobs and in the case of a pandemic the demand not be able to be covered.