Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the passage of the time, technology has improved the automation process resulting in a reduction in the manual labour needed. For some people, this indicates that there needs to be a reduction in the number of working hours. However, it can be uncessesary This essay will discuss these opinions and my personal opinion. There are some reasons why despite automatization, manual labour ’s working hours should not be reduced. It can be said that, in case of machines damages, manual labours need to be there to fix the problem for production to continue. However, if the manual labour ’s working hours are reduced, they are not going to be there to fix the problem. For instance, Coca Cola’s main machine in Spain stopped working, and as there were no labours who could fix it, the production of this product was suspended for two days. As a consequence, the company lost around one million dollars, that could have possibly been avoided if the labours would have been there. On the other hand, reducing the number of hours that the manual labour workers work as a result of automatization should be done as it could have advantages for companies. Automation implied that labour workers do not need to be there as the machines do the work by themself. With this in mind, if automation is working correctly, why companies should keep paying the normal working hours to manual labours if they are not needed. For instance, Ford’s 2019 reports show that by improving their automation and reducing their manual labour working hours, they saved around five million dollars a month, which contribute to the development of their next car. In conclusion, the reduction of working hours due to automation has advantages and disadvantages for manual labours and for the companies. In my opinion It can be said that this should be done as it helps companies to save money, which can be used to create new products.