In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

In many countries, nowadays, youngsters are inspired to involve in jobs or to explore the world for at least one year between their secondary level and tertiary level. Even though travelling or working during the study period is considered to be useful, it can be detrimental also. Firstly, this essay will discuss the practical experience gained from doing a job or exploring places as one of the primary advantages and secondly, will discuss the negative impact on the study as one of the main disadvantages. On the one hand, one of the evident advantages of doing work or visiting spectacular places between the gap of high school and the university is the gaining of real- life experience. In other words, when young generations will involve in workplaces or visit many places, they will be able to know the real scenarios of life, which is much more difficult than student life. As a result, they will be motivated to study well at the university level so that they can achieve good results and manage a well-paid job. This can be illustrated by the fact that 90% of the UK students, who worked between their secondary and tertiary level and experienced that without having good scored it is difficult to compete in the job market, achieved 80% marks in all subjects at the university level. On the other hand, the possible disadvantage if travelling and working between finishing high school and starting university is that there is a chance of not returning into the study life. This is because when adolescents start to earn income and learn to lead their life independently, they lose their interest to begin the study life again. As a consequence, they cannot earn a university degree, which is inevitable to get a top- level job in this contemporary world. For instance, an empirical study conducted by Cambridge University in 2009 found that every year 10% of the UK high school students do not start their higher education because they are more interested to do jobs, whatever the amount of salary is. In conclusion, although working and travelling between the high school and university life can bring benefit to students by giving experience about life, it can also lead to the end of study life, which is seriously a downside.