Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

Many parents insist that their children should become successful in their schools, putting them under a lot of pressure. The main reason behind this is that they want them to go to prestigious universities and faculties, and this should be considered as a negative development because this may negatively affect their academic performance. This essay will discuss the factors contributing to this pressure, followed by a discussion on the negative consequences. Many families want their children to be at the top of their classes. This is because they want their children to enrol in colleges and faculties which would provide them with a better future, securing their livelihoods and providing them with better career prospects. For example, many middle-eastern families insist that their daughters and sons become doctors and engineers. As a consequence, they force their children to study for long hours and punish them if they do not get the score that they expect from them. Placing children under so much stress may have an opposite harmful effect on them. Pushing students to their limits would lead to them underperforming academically, and they would feel that they are way behind their peers. Therefore, they will become be demotivated and discouraged, and they are more likely to suffer from depression and anxiety. As a result, they would suffer from low-self esteem, as they have failed to meet their parents’ expectations. For instance, many students report suffering from stress-related disorders due to the constant stressful conditions that they live in, from the demands of their parents to the struggle to keep up with all the studying. In conclusion, parents who constantly put their youngsters under great tension to score top grades to become achieving and join well-known universities may do more harm than good to them. This is because their offsprings may feel that they are not smart enough, and this also may lower their confidence.