The use of illegal drugs, such as heroin and cocaine, are becoming more and more common in many countries. What are some of the problems associated with drug abuse, and what are some of possible solutions ? (approximately 250 words)

Illicit drug use is developing into a popular issue in various parts of the world. This phenomenon involves many detrimental problems that affect human health and I believe that several feasible measures can be taken to overcome them. On the one hand, there are various harmful effects of excessive use of addictive substances. Firstly, frequent drug use can cause changes in the human brain. Many mental disorders can be short-term conditions such as having illusions, anxiety, and aggression, or long-term illnesses such as depression, paranoia, and loss of consciousness. All of them affect the abilities of self-control and logical thinking of human beings. Secondly, drug abuse is one of the fastest spreading ways of the HIV epidemic. People who consume narcotic substances have a high possibility of being HIV transmitters by injecting drugs and sharing needles with others or by having unprotected sex with infected partners. On the other hand, I think there are some applicable solutions to tackle this problem. The first one may be the establishment of the strictest norms for illicit drug -related acts. For example, trafficking, possession, and consumption of drugs are punishable by life imprisonment in Singapore and that is why this island is one of the places which have the lowest rate of HIV-infected adults on the planet. Another measured practice is educating the public about the negative or fatal consequences of illicit drug use so that the population takes into account the proper consideration of abstinence from drug use and other alternatives of such use. This strategy must be disseminated not only in school but in all social media mass, which offers a message and warning daily to the community. In conclusion, the excessive use of addictive substances is becoming a serious issue in many countries due to its negative impacts on society, all countries and their citizens must have adequate awareness of this problem to prevent it from developing.