Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the fire function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

There are many controversies about the target of tertiary training nowadays. A group of people argued that higher learning is required to cultivate students with work-related knowledge, while another group raise objections that universities should respect the basic theories of the curriculums. From my point of view, schooling in universities can be a complex mixture of containing work-oriented information and fundamental principles. On the one hand, universities can provide students with substantial theoretical resources, which allow young generations to ground a sober foundation of knowledge before graduations. As we know that, when college students enrolled in their courses, they are eligible to access to unlimited theoretical information from their universities. Because most of the higher learning institutions contain at least one complex library with thousands of textbooks and literature. And also, there are countless complimentary related essays and articles online available for all enrolled college students. And the foundation will lead to a high ability of students to learn new information and skills in their areas. For example, as a law student, reciting every element of Nomology is one of the main tasks I was required to complete in freshman year since we can only understand our existing laws in China thoroughly and utilize them into reality after grounding a firm foundation of law. On the other hand, universities also a suitable place for young generations to prepare for their adult life and consider their future career paths. This is because that, adults always say, the structures of universities are similar to our society. Besides studying, academicians can experience Student Union elections, join interesting clubs and tackle relationships with lecturers, roommates and classmates. All these practices can be applied widely in our daily life. Furthermore, there are enormous opportunities for undergraduates to attend occupational training courses in universities. Young people can learn practical skills like writing a resume and tips of interviews from those classes. In conclusion, I think the main task of universities is to assist young people to prepare well for their future in both academical and occupational way.