Environmental issues have always been an international problem because governments are not imposing harsh punishments againts offenders To what extent do you agree or disagree? Support your answer with specific reasons and examples.

Nowadays, more and more people are acting to protect our planet as environmental issues have been an international problem. Governments are not imposing harsh punishment against offenders. I strongly agree with this statement for several reasons. Firstly, fossil fuel extraction is one of the major causes of pollution as it could lead to enormous environmental accidents. The extractions methods require the usage of pumps that suck the oil from the bottom of the sea to the surface with the help of huge steel pipes. Recent studies suggest how these pumps tend to spill a small amount of oil that is then released into the seawater. This situation could be extremely dangerous for fishes and other sea species as it can reach the whole food chain. To cite an example, the company "shell" in 2005 was responsible for a massive oil spill in the pacific ocean, it was so huge that we can still notice the effect that it has on both lands and oceans. Secondly, more and more international organizations are flourishing in recent years, in order to mitigate this situation, although in most cases, these organizations are unable to tackle this problem without the cooperation of local governments. Furthermore, these companies normally operate in different countries where there are different law systems. Moreover, some of these companies use to operate in international law spaces such as an offshore platform in the middle of the oceans. As a result, it could be very complicated to impose a universal punishment against offenders, because they are operating in different law systems and thus are subjected to different punishments. For instance, the company shell was fined for just 1 million dollars, that is nothing compared to their income of 10 billions of dollars. To sum up, governments should act more incisively to tackle this issue, also, they must cooperate with the international organization in order to provide a standardization of the laws that are regulating such problems. Our planet resources are limited and we must do our best to protect and preserve our ecosystem.