Some high schools require all students to wear school uniforms. Other high schools permit students to decide what to wear to school. Which of these two school policies do you think is better?

It is often argued that pupils should wear a specific set of clothes to schools while some disagree and say children should be given the freedom of choice regarding the school dress. I am sceptical that the former is true and I will explain why throughout this essay. Firstly, having a particular costume for schoolgoers is a way of practising good discipline. Students are encouraged to dress the same way as per the education institute standards and it is one of the many ways of learning good qualities for them. For instance, a recent study done in Europe has found out that 80% of young students from colleges with standard costumes are well behaved when compared to youngsters who wear their choice of clothes to schools. Thus, general outfits can help to maintain the behaviour of high schoolgoers Secondly, a standard costume represents a certain brand. So, if senior students wear uniforms, that means they are representing the institute they learn when they go out in public. The good name of the college will be recognized easily by the community because of the dress code. Additionally, this is beneficial for the college as it is a way of marketing your goodwill. For example, my nephew goes to a popular school in Melbourne and most of the time people recognize his education institute by only looking at the costume. Hence, a uniform can help to identify the school. To sum up, it is true that providing standard costumes for college children is fundamental not only because it can help to increase the good behaviour of children but also it can help schools to increase the popularity as well.