In some countries, people are no longer allowed to smoke in many public places and office buildings. Do you think this is a good rule or a bad rule?

In the modern world, smoking is extremely popular. However, few countries have restricted smoking in general areas and inside offices. I am certain that it is beneficial and I will explain why throughout this essay. Firstly, by having laws in place, people have limited freedom to smoke in common areas or inside buildings which can help other people in the community. Moreover, smoking is a personal choice and it should not affect others. If a person smokes around other individuals who don't smoke, those individuals can get really uncomfortable. For instance, a popular bus station in Melbourne was once filled with individuals who smoke and daily commuters were badly impacted by that. Recently, the council imposed a rule preventing smoking and now it is a much better place. Thus, having a set of rules for smoking can help the rights of the community who don't smoke. Secondly, establishing laws to prevent public smoking can help to reduce the negative health impact of innocent people. Science has proved that many health issues arising due to smoke are impacting the community who were surrounded by a smoking person. This is really unacceptable as the victim of smoking is an innocent citizen. For instance, a study done in Europe has found out that 80% of the community who have lung cancers were non-smokers and they all have at least one friend who smokes. Therefore, by having regulations to limit smoking in common areas can increase the good health of citizens. To sum up, creating laws to limit persons from smoking in common areas can protect not only the rights but also can increase the health of the other members of society.