Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is currently a contentious argument over whether students should learn from classic reading in high school or not. I agree that nowadays this subject is not important anymore and in this essay, I will give some reasons to support this idea. Firstly, classical literature has become old fashioned. As the young students are mostly connected with a contemporary language, novels or even poems do not fit in their minds anymore. Therefore, individuals tend to avoid these languages that are put into classical books due to the fact that in most part of cases it is considered hard to understand which makes learners avoid this type of reading. To illustrate, individuals who are at high school age have a preference to search from internet articles than looking for classical books dut to its ease language. The second main idea why I support the notion that literature is not needed anymore is that there are other subjects more important to follow. Unless a student intends to follow a literature career such a librarian or a writer, individuals should not be imposed to this subject owing to the fact that there are other main subjects that must have do be learnt, for example, math, English, and so on. Thus, students could spend more focus on these subjects so as not to waste their time with something that in most cases will not employ any advantage in their future. As an example, a student who wants to become a Doctor probably will not use literature in his life for any reason but leisure time. In conclusion, due to both aforementioned reasons, I believe that literature is not useful in the modern world anymore and people, which are especially students, should not bring about this subject as one of the most important ones since it will not be useful in their future.